Skip to content

If you could choose one player and make him a Packer, who would it be?

December 6, 2009

My father proposed this question to me yesterday.  Before I replied to his email, I took a quick look over a list of NFL teams.  I thought about a few players on each team and came up with the following players:

Larry Fitzgerald, Mario Williams, Maurice Jones-Drew, Adrian Peterson, Chris Johnson, Asomugha Nnamdi, and Patrick Willis.

I weighed the options a little longer and then came up with with three finalists:

Mario Williams, Chris Johnson, Asomugha Nnamdi.

After some deliberation, I chose Chris Johnson because he’s got amazing speed, he’s young, and he poses a threat to score every time he touches the ball.  When is the last time the Packers had a running back like that? Ahman Green, in his prime, my dad answered. I told him Ahman was great, but he was no Chris Johnson.

My father’s pick:  Joe Thomas.  He defended his choice by explaining that Thomas is having a great year (despite being on a horrible team), he’s young, and he’s the type of person that would stick around Green Bay for his entire career.  I have to say that Thomas would be a great Packer, but I still like Chris Johnson.  I also pointed out that the Packers had the chance to draft Michael Oher this year with the ninth pick but chose B.J. Raji instead.  Raji could turn out to be a great player, but I think Oher is going to be something special. Ted Thompson found an anchor for his 3-4 defense in this year’s draft, but what has he ever done to address the Packers’ aging, injury-plagued, offensive tackles?  But, I digress.

Back to the question at hand.  Today I had the good fortune of meeting Packers writer Bob McGinn of the Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel.  As Greg Bedard put it, he was “invading enemy territory” and signing copies of his Super Bowl book at a Barnes and Noble in Saint Paul, Minnesota.  Naturally, I asked McGinn what player he would make a Packer.  Although he didn’t give a specific answer, he did agree with my pick and said he would “go with the running back.”  Max – 1, Max’s dad – 0 (But who’s counting?) In all fairness, I have to give credit to my dad for providing the idea for this blog post in the first place.  Max – 1, Max’s dad – 1.  I’ll play it safe like Donovan McNabb and leave it at a tie.

Now I propose the question to all of you. (The three of you that actually read the blog.  Well, two because we already know who my dad picked.) If you could choose one player and make him a Packer, who would it be?  Let me know in the comments.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2009 6:40 pm

    Are either of the Ismail brothers still in the league? If not, I’d go with Peterson, just to stick it to Vikngs fans.

    • December 6, 2009 7:15 pm

      Good choice – Any team would love to have Adrian Peterson. There were six teams that could have had him, but they chose to pass on him in the draft. To be fair, two of those teams did draft great players – The Lions chose Calvin Johnson with the second pick and the Browns chose Joe Thomas with the third pick.

      And I do like the shout-outs for the “Rocket” and the “Missle.”

      • wyn permalink
        December 7, 2009 9:02 am

        Injury concerns will always scare off teams in the draft and that means amazing players will fall. Except for the Blazers and Greg Oden. Poor Greg Oden.

      • December 7, 2009 9:12 am

        You must be a basketball blogger.

        Ladies and gentlemen, if you care about anything hoops related, specifically Timberwolves, check out http://www.canishoopus.com It’s great analysis and great writing (much better than this blog). Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

