Skip to content

Adrian Peterson: Making a Statement?

June 21, 2010

We had some people over for a BBQ this weekend, and a friend mentioned the plethora of Packers-related posts on PPGJ lately. Needless to say, this friend is a Vikings fan, so I made a promise to myself that I would seek out some Vikings news to post on Monday. As it turns out, I didn’t need to go far to find what I was looking for. Tom Powers of the Pioneer Press was stirring the proverbial pot today with his article, “Vikings appear to have an Adrian Peterson problem.” From Powers:

Something is wrong between Adrian Peterson and the Vikings.

Maybe it’s a contract issue or the preferential treatment given to Brett Favre, or perhaps Peterson is miffed at coach Brad Childress for throwing him under the bus for dropping the football. But something clearly is sour in this relationship.

Powers’ further opines that Adrian Peterson was making a statement by staying away from mandatory mini-camp:

I’d bet the house that event organizers asked A.P. if he wanted to switch the [Adrian Peterson] day. After all, the event is organized by his closest friends and relatives, and they certainly don’t want to cause him any trouble. In Palestine [Texas], Peterson is an example of someone who does the right thing, not someone who creates problems.

As I’ve written before, I don’t think Peterson was making a statement. Maybe I’m wrong and I’ll be eating my words. But the offseason exists for us to over-analyze every little thing that players say or don’t say, right?

I wish I could have posted something about touchdowns or records being broken, but as of late I seem to be writing more and more about contractual issues. Regardless of the content, this Vikings post is for you, Bern.

One Comment leave one →
  1. bern permalink
    June 22, 2010 6:31 am

    thanks max. keep the good news coming.

Leave a Reply

