Skip to content

Brett Favre And Men’s Journal

July 14, 2010
by

On the same day Brett Favre will be walking the red carpet at the ESPY Awards in Los Angeles, USA Today author Sean Leahy published some stirring quotes from Favre. Leahy headlined his article with this Favre quote: “The Damage Has Been Done.” (Just to be clear, Brett is referring to the damage done to his body, not the damage his reputation has suffered in the eyes of Packer fans.)

If you saw this article and muttered to yourself, “Ya, ya, ya. Brett Favre is talking but he’s not saying anything about next season,” you probably missed the most intriguing part of the article.

Brett’s answer to how his exit from Green Bay played out revealed some hard-headed stances from both sides of the table.

There was just silence. I said, ‘Well, what are we gonna do?’ They made it pretty clear I wasn’t going to play there, and I said, ‘How about the Vikings or even the Lions?’ I wanted to stay in the same division. They said that wasn’t going to happen, but maybe Tampa. I said, ‘Fine, trade me to Tampa. I’ll whip your asses in week four.’ Maybe that was a mistake. I’m flying back to Hattiesburg thinking I’m going to the Bucs, and I get off the plane and Bus tell [sic] me I’ve been traded to the Jets. I said, ‘Bull,’ but they were smart; they released the news so I’d look like an ass if I backed out.”

There was never any doubt that the conversations between Brett Favre and Packers’ general manager Ted Thompson were adversarial, but what’s shocking about this quote is Brett’s desire to stay within the division. His thirst for revenge against the Packers was so great, he was willing to play for the lowly Lions. I think that bears repeating. Brett Favre wanted revenge so badly, he suggested that the Packers trade him to the Lions.

So will Brett Favre be back next season? The consensus seems to be a resounding “yes.” The question that remains is, why? Is Brett Favre coming back to lead the Vikings to the Super Bowl or is Brett Favre coming back to satiate his thirst for revenge? If you’re a Vikings fan, do you care?

.

**UPDATE** Judd Zulgad of the Minneapolis Star Tribune has more quotes from the interview, including Favre faulting Sidney Rice’s route on the interception that ended last year’s NFC Championship game.

Leave a Reply

