Skip to content

Morgan Burnett: My Kind Of Player

July 19, 2010

Morgan Burnett is the newest Packers player to officially join the squad. According to the National Football Post, the safety out of Georgia Tech agreed to a four-year deal. Burnett, a third-round draft choice (71st overall), is expected to challenge incumbent safety Atari Bigby for a starting spot on the 53-man roster. Per NFP, the details of the contract are as follows:

The 6-foot-1, 209-pounder received the standard base salaries of $320,000, $405,000, $490,000 and $575,000 as well as a slotted signing bonus and a fourth-year escalator clause that can significantly boost the maximum value of the deal.

Bryan McIntyre, of Cheesehead TV, believes the signing bonus will be “in the vicinity of $875,000.”

With the recent signing of Burnett, it would seem an opportune time to look at the rookie’s intangibles. By delving into interviews conducted by both Mike Spofford of Packers.com and D. Orlando Ledbetter of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution a few quotes jump out about the young man’s character.

First and foremost, Morgan Burnett seems to have his priorities straight. For example, he isn’t eager to spend his newfound wealth. When asked what he will buy with his signing bonus, his reply was a refreshing change from the typical response of a fancy new car.

I really don’t know. I’m just going to try my best to save my money, really.

Additionally, the collegiate All-American looks to his family for inspiration and cites the birth of his son as his proudest accomplishment in life.

The night before [a game] I make sure I say my prayers and then I make sure I talk to my mom, dad and brother.

The day my son was born, May 4, 2009. Outside of football, that is my greatest accomplishment.

The term “Packer People” gets thrown around a lot in Titletown. And yet, when I think about Morgan Burnett, I can’t shake that phrase from my head. He seems like the kind of football player who will show up in big games, be in the right place on the field at the right time, and have a long, fruitful career as a Packer.

It’s the intangibles that separate a good football player from a great football player, and Morgan Burnett appears to be the complete package of football talent and instinct. Despite the fact that Burnett has yet to play an NFL down, I get the feeling his performances will be stealing a lot of headlines for years to come.

Leave a Reply

