Skip to content

How I Spent My Summer Vacation By Greg Jennings

July 21, 2010
by

With training camp 11 days away, Green Bay Packers wide receiver Greg Jennings is still enjoying his summer vacation. Just because it’s the offseason, doesn’t mean Jennings is relaxing on the beach, though. That just wouldn’t be his style. How is the fifth-year veteran spending his time off? He’s building houses for those in need. Graham Couch of the Kalamazoo Gazette explains:

Jennings’ foundation is contributing $85,000 to sponsor the construction of a Kalamazoo Valley Habitat for Humanity house on Kalamazoo’s East Side — a home for Erica Brenner and her two sons, Tayvian and Devon McKinley, ages 11 and 8, respectively.

Couch also caught up with Jennings to ask him a few questions. The whole interview is a worthwhile read, but I’ll post some of the highlights for your reading pleasure.

Jennings certainly wasn’t shy when expressing his feelings about training camp.

…training camp, we can get rid of that part, and I think I can speak for 100 percent of the guys. Yeah, training camp is one of those aspects of the game we can kind of sweep under the rug and erase, along with the preseason games.

Jennings also commented on how the current labor situation played into his contract negotiations a year ago. (Without a contract extension, Jennings would have been a restricted free agent this offseason.)

Yes, honestly, that [the Collective Bargaining Agreement] was like right here in that rear view mirror. I would look at it like, ‘I don’t want to have to deal with that.’ Obviously, going into that whole contract negotiation process, that was one of the things that was really crucial for myself and my agent and my family, is to make sure we got a deal done that we were satisfied with, and at the same time, not having to wait and be in this position that a lot of guys are in. I’m grateful the Packers decided to go ahead and jump on board and commit themselves to me and I committed myself to them.

Greg Jennings got the contract he deserved, and now he’s paying it forward to those less fortunate than himself. I’m suddenly feeling inadequate for how I spent my summer vacation. Maybe Greg needs some more volunteers…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 3:26 pm

    Great read Max! Great, great read!

    With all of the nonsense the Packers endured this offseason (Havner dui, Underwood investigation in the Dells, Jolly’s suspension) its good to hear of some good news that a Packer player did. And there is no bigger class act than Jennings.

    • July 21, 2010 7:22 pm

      Thanks, John. It is nice to hear about some players doing good things with their fame and wealth. And I completely agree, Jennings is a class act all the way. He does a lot of great charity work.

Trackbacks

  1. Yet Another Reason To Root For Greg Jennings « Purple Pants, Green Jersey

Leave a Reply

