Skip to content

What If Brett Favre…

August 18, 2010
by

A Can of Worms?

As I listened to Brett Favre’s press conference, I heard the ex-Falcons, Packers, and Jets quarterback ramble on about everything from what Dr. James Andrews removed from his ankle to the protein powder he was carrying around in a can yesterday. I don’t know if it was his slow southern drawl or the beer I had with lunch, but my attention seemed to fade in and out. My mind drifted towards the upcoming season. I thought to myself, will Favre ride off into the sunset after winning the big game or will this year be a sad epilogue tacked on to the end of the Brett Favre saga?

One thing I did hear loud and clear during the press conference was when Favre said, “I’m going to fall apart sometime.” After all, it was only this morning when I wondered aloud, “What if Brett Favre gets hurt in a preseason game?”Apparently, I’m not the only one voicing this concern. Andrew Brandt over at the National Football Post shares my sentiments.

The thing I worry about with Brett and the end of his career is injury. Not that anyone should worry about that with him, as he is a freak of nature. When we looked at his knee after a LCL sprain one year, his joints were as pristine as a teenager. My worry is that he has been beating the odds for so long that the house will eventually win. The injury rate in the NFL is 99%, meaning basically everyone in the league except Brett gets hurt. I hope he can stay that way.

With Favre guaranteed to make $16.5 million this season, the Vikings are certainly gambling on the right arm (and left ankle) of the 41-year-old quarterback. But if you’re the Vikings, I suppose you go all-in when you have a legitimate shot at the Super Bowl and perhaps a new stadium.

I have no idea what will transpire for the Vikings this year, but I doubt they can repeat last year’s success. Usually I’m an optimist, but I don’t see Favre putting up career-high numbers again.

Regardless of how this year plays out, we won’t have Favre to kick around next season.

“I had fun,” Favre told reporters. “I can promise you this — not that I had ever set out as a goal to play 20 years — 20 years, and I’m done.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Manozzi permalink
    August 19, 2010 4:53 pm

    Brett…… GIVE IT UP…… NOBODY retires as much as you do!!!!!

  2. Mark Manozzi permalink
    August 19, 2010 4:54 pm

    Favre…….. why bother……… EVERYONE knows you’ll never retire!

Trackbacks

  1. Daybreak Doppler: Save 598, Badger Training Camp & Favre’s Biggest Fan « PocketDoppler.com - A Wisconsin Sports Blog

Leave a Reply

