Skip to content

Jermichael Finley Reveals Second “Emergency” Surgery

November 3, 2010

Green Bay Packers tight end Jermichael Finley told Jason Wilde of ESPN Milwaukee that the knee injury that put him season-ending injured-reserve also required a second surgery for an infection that was “floating around the locker room.”

I had a second surgery. Nobody knows about it. I had caught a real small infection in my knee, so I had to go in about a week ago, had to go back under and get the infection out. I was in the hospital for two days. I’m surprised nobody knew about it. I had to get all these antibiotics in me, get blood drawn four or five times a day. It’s terrible. Right now, I’ve got this IV in my chest, a central line.

Nobody knew about the surgery. Some guys over at the facility had it, and it’s floating around the locker room. I had to go in, it was emergency surgery. I had a 105 fever, I called Doc (team physician Pat McKenzie) and said, ‘I’m not feeling too good,’ and we had to rush in and clean out the infection. I don’t know what it’s called. I guess you could call it a staph infection, but I don’t think that’s what it was. But I had to rush in and they put a central line in my chest. I won’t get this taken out for another month and a half. Three times a day I have to get antibiotics put through it. Courtney [his wife], she’s my doctor right now.

For a team already dealing with an inordinate amount of injuries, news of an infection “floating around the locker room” is a pretty scary revelation.

We wish Finley the best as he recovers, and hope there are no further complications for him or any other Packers player.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

