Skip to content

2010 Ed Block Courage Award Recipients: Charles Woodson & Cedric Griffin

December 31, 2010

The Ed Block Courage award is given to one player from each NFL team who “exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.” The accolade is especially meaningful to players because it is voted on by their teammates. The Packers and Vikings both chose two players who couldn’t be more deserving. Coincidentally, both teams chose cornerbacks to bestow the award upon this season: Charles Woodson and Cedric Griffin.

Woodson said he was surprised but thanked his teammates for honoring him.

“For them to think of me in that respect, it means a lot,” said Woodson.

Nick Collins, the Packers’ 2009 recipient of the award, summed up Woodson’s impact on his teammates.

“It’s his character – he lays it on the line every week,” said Collins. “I know he misses a lot of practice, but at any given time when we need him on Sunday, he shows up. I think a lot of guys value that. He’s played this game a long time and knows a lot about this game. Just his leadership got him that award, and I was one of those guys to vote for him. It’s just the respect I have for the guy.”

Just because the Vikings’ players decided to honor Cedric Griffin for different reasons, doesn’t make the award any less significant. Griffin, who has missed most of the 2010 season after suffering his second ACL injury in as many years, was humble as he told reporters about his rehab process.

The fifth-year player out of the University of Texas said he did not feel pity or frustration over his injuries; rather, he pointed to the valuable experience that young cornerbacks Asher Allen and Chris Cook logged in his absence. Griffin added that there was no timeline for his return but sounded confident he would be back in 2011.

It is this team-first attitude that makes both Charles Woodson and Cedric Griffin worthy recipients of the Ed Block Courage award. Both make their teammates better and exude what it means to be a role model, leader, and football player. We here at Purple Pants, Green Jersey congratulate both players.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: