Skip to content

James Jones Wants To Return To Green Bay

March 8, 2011
by

After a screening of the 2011 Super Bowl XLV Champions DVD produced by NFL Films and Warner Home Video, Green Bay Press-Gazette reporter Kareem Copeland caught up with Packers’ receiver James Jones.

Jones reiterated that he received a tender offer from the Packers and would like to finish his career in Green Bay, but, as he put it, that decision is up to the team.

“When I was coming out of college my main goal was to stay at one place my whole career,” Jones said. “But at the same time you have to do what’s best for your family. At the same time, it’s not up to me. It’s up to the organization.”

“Hopefully we can do something to keep me here. … It’s up to them. If they don’t want me back, I’ve got to go play somewhere else, right?”

The fourth year receiver out of San Jose State wants to be an NFL starter, but he sounded unsure of that dream being realized as a Packer.

“My main thing going through all this, do I want to be a starter in the National Football League?” said Jones. “No question. Do I feel like I’m a starter? No question. … I know we have something great here. This team can win some championships for the next couple years.”

“But, at the same time, I do want to be a starter. I don’t know if that’ll ever happen here with Donald (Driver) playing until he’s 40.”

With Packers’ general manager Ted Thompson’s tendency to go with younger players over veterans, it will be interesting to see how the Jones situation plays out. With age and injury slowly catching up with Driver, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Thompson make a strong effort to re-sign Jones. However, if the market for Jones’ services becomes too high, the two would-be touchdown passes he dropped in the 2010 postseason will be his lasting legacy in a green and gold uniform.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

