Skip to content

It’s a Boy!

June 16, 2011
by

There are a handful of moments in life that are so singular, so focused, so remarkable, that everything else in the world seems to fade away. As of today, my wife and I are going on day 5 of one of those moments.

On Saturday, June 11, we welcomed a beautiful baby boy into this world. He has 10 fingers and 10 toes (I counted), and is adjusting to life outside the womb swimmingly. My wife was amazing not only during the birth, but throughout the entire pregnancy. Both mom and baby are doing great as the hours turn into days of relaxing and getting to know each another.

The simple feeling of love and content this child brings is remarkable. It’s something I would have never been able to explain before, but now understand so clearly, it seems like a feeling I have known my entire life.

As any parent knows, continuous hours of sleep have been difficult to come by, but the happiness and peace this child brings are well worth the sacrifice of rest.

Rarely do I stray from football on this blog, but this is one of those exceptional instances. I’ll get back to football soon, but for now, I plan on spending every ounce of energy, time, and thought toward this child.

I’ll be back to my regular posts here and at Cheesehead TV in the near future, but for now, I am perfectly content just sitting and watching my son’s chest rise and fall with each sweet breath of life passing through his lips.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 11:39 am

    Very well-said. Congratulations!

  2. June 16, 2011 11:42 am

    Welcome to the Daddy Club!

  3. June 16, 2011 1:41 pm

    Congrats!! Glad to hear mom and baby are happy and healthy. I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone speak of parenthood quite so eloquently. Happy early Father’s Day!

  4. June 17, 2011 6:20 am

    I have no doubt you will be the most incredible father. I’m so grateful you, of all people, are raising a son. (And your wife is pretty damn amazing, too.) He’s a lucky boy, I’m a lucky aunt, it’s a lucky world. I love you.

  5. June 17, 2011 6:24 am

    Yay! Blessings on your sweet family.

Leave a Reply

