Skip to content

Charles Woodson States His Case

August 17, 2011

Charles Woodson was not only an integral part of the Green Bay Packers latest Lombardi Trophy, but when the 14-year veteran finally decides to call it quits, he will likely find a bust bearing his resemblance in Canton, Ohio as part of the National Football League Hall of Fame.

So how does a player of Woodson’s stature still find motivation to go out and perform on a daily basis? He knows there are still those who doubt his dominance.

SiriusXM’s Rich Gannon and Adam Schein attended Packers training camp on Wednesday as part of their NFL Radio broadcast. Gannon, a former teammate of Woodson’s in Oakland, and Schien asked Woodson what motivates him after all these years. The 34-year-old cornerback replied that he does not get the respect he deserves.

“I was watching TV the other day, I think it was the Monday night game, and I think Bill Parcells said that (Darrelle) Revis was probably the most complete corner in the game,” Woodson said via Bob Wolfley of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. “Is there another more complete player than I am in the game? I feel like I still don’t have the respect I deserve as a football player so I’m going to keep going out and grinding until I get it.”

Woodson, who doubled the number of votes over Darrelle Revis for the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2009, further articulated what makes him the best cornerback in the league.

“I don’t know. I mean, you know, just all of the things you mentioned, sacks, fumbles, covering, forced fumbles, playing nickel, playing dime, playing safety, playing corner, and doing it all in the same game. I mean, if you can tell me somebody else that’s doing that, I’ll listen. What I’m going to continue to do is try to get better as a football player and like I said, I still feel like I’ve got to go out there and gain respect even at 14 years in the league. Obviously I still have something to prove out there so I’m just going to keep grinding.”

The pundits can debate all they want, but it’s difficult to dispute Woodson’s all-around talent. He plays multiple positions and roles, but more importantly, he is a leader on and off the field.

When Darrelle Revis’ career comes to a completion, a more fair assessment can be made, but until then, Charles Woodson is exactly who he thinks he is: The best cornerback in the National Football League.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

